Every MMOG on the market today treats

#2 Taenuarhew

Taenuarhew

Patron

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 62 posts

Posted 06 May 2006 - 10:14 AM

EVE online. You can die in PVP if you mess up and can't get away, but npcs won't actually kill you, only destroy your ship. If you do die you best have a clone of yourself ready for your soul to transfer into (which cost a good amount of money), otherwise, game over.

Although I personally could buy about 450 clones of myself, I've only ever used one clone, and lost 8 ships, and that was because I felt like being silly and murdered myself in order to save myself from traveling 40 jumps.

At one point in UO my dread lord had gone 6 months without dying, then I died for mistakenly teleporting to a town bank. Like a total newb.

In DDO on the other hand you do go to -10 before you actually die, which happens a lot due to the beefed up monsters.

There are also several games in the works which have permadeath, and if I'm not mistaken the origonal horizons by 'our' David had permadeath planed.

If it takes 2-3 deaths to kill one monster in a game, death is done wrong.
The risk of death in a game like EVE or UO would run a tingle down my spine, it is something to be afraid of. In other games where death is an every day thing, it gives you the feeling that you're raming your head against a stone wall and just waiting for the wall to break. There really should be major down sides to death, but not make it easy to die. Otherwise death becomes just another part of the grind, and no one likes to feel like they are grinding.

#3 Magus

Magus

Prophet

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 105 posts
  • LocationNorth Carolina

Posted 06 May 2006 - 05:58 PM