20 replies to this topic

#1 stitchersflock

stitchersflock

Patron

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 67 posts

Posted 30 November 2009 - 08:01 AM

A little background ... I started playing video games about two years ago. Hubby got me hooked on Oblivion and then Guild Wars and finally WoW. I first played WOW a year ago, and loved it. I could quest on my own, with hubby, there were pets, and the lore and story were immersive. And then the WOW community came into play and I lost that enjoyment completely.

We joined a supposed "mature" guild and left within a week. I don't play games to deal with pregnant 13-year old children in my mature guild. Shortly after that, we left because I was drawn into EQ2. The guild we were in there was awesome! Mature, humorous, respectful, helpful, and fun. The only reason we left is because EQ2 isn't a game that you can pick up late and solo to "ctach-up" to other players. We joined another guild upon our return to WOW this summer, and it had more drama than the first. Ok, no pregnant teenagers but still drama galore. We left that guild too. Finally formed our own -- more for the jointly shared bank space than anything else.

What we don't want in a guild --

1. An application -- only thing we "apply" to in life, is a job. This is a game were we come to relax and enjoy ourselves, not work.
2. Drama -- if we wanted that nonsense, I'd still be working and he'd be going into an office on a daily basis. LOL Drama is best left on stage.
3. Taxes and/or Mandatory Donations -- we are more than happy to contribute to any guild we join, be it in time, crafting, help, or gold but the moment anything becomes mandatory then it becomes a job or a legal obligation and well, that's not playing a game.

What we are looking for in a guild --

1. A place to call home -- friendly, mature adults that can relax and enjoy one another's company
2. Helpful -- we try to always be helpful (I have more free time than hubby) but not at the expense of our own playtime